Forms that work: Designing web forms for usability

Reviews

We're grateful to everyone who takes time to write up their impressions of our book. If you write a review that is publically available somewhere other than Amazon, let us know and we'll list it here - whether you loved it or hated it.

Web Designers' Review of Books

Nora Brown talked about our book on her review web site Web Designers' Review of Books: Review of Forms that Work. February 2012
"a straightforward, practical volume which outlines best practices for creating usable web-based forms".

Online Marketing Blog

Gerard Rathenau reviewed our book on his marketing blog (in Dutch) Boekreview: Forms that Work van Caroline Jarrett. August 2011
"Samenvattend: Must-read voor iedereen, die het optimale rendement uit zijn website of shop wil halen!"

Assure Dynamics

Assure Dynamics, developers of dynamic forms and online systems, recommended our book in their blog post Laying out a form. November 2010.

R-She-Yeah

Arshi posted a long set of notes about the book on her blog R-She-Yeah: Thinking about forms and usability. May 2010.

Schrijvenvoorinternet

Aartjan van Erkel wrote a review in Dutch on his blog Schrijvenvoorinternet: Het op één na beste boek over webformulieren. April 2010.

RB - My Entertainment

RB mentioned reading our book on My Entertainment alongside the Genesis of Shannara Trilogy, a biography of Walt Disney, and a book about the game Spore. April 2010.
"The book seems useful for general guidelines in creating online forms that are useful for the organization while being easy/non-invasive for the user".

Foraker

Foraker reviewed our book on their web site Usability First, March 2010.
"This book brings to light the idea that good form design isn’t just about looks—it’s about making sure you’re asking the right questions so your users understand how to answer".

Jim Lesko

Jim Lesko of Supply Chain Technology - The Portal: a look under the hood mentioned our book as a resource in his post Finding good UK design tips for business applications, February 2010.
"an easy-to-follow, common sense approach that anyone having an interest in web design can pick up and process to make their user interfaces better".

Dan Croxen-John

Dan Croxen-John of Applied Analytics reviewed our book: The Science of Online Forms, February 2010
"Let me start with my conclusion first – if you like waiting to the end of anything to know what someone thinks, I’m sorry I am not that kind of book reviewer – this book is better than you think it is".

Guy Wyant

Guy Wyant included our book in his Christmas reading: Jeeves is About Usability, Too. January 2010
"This was a quick read; short but solid. Most everything was review for me, but for those just starting with web forms, this would be great".

Plain Language Commission

The Plain Language Commission, a UK-based plain language consultancy, chose our book as one of their three Christmas recommendations in their newsletter Pikestaff (.pdf). December 2009.

Jordi Rosell

Jordi Rosell included our book on his 5 llibres #mustread sobre usabilitat (5 must-read books on usability). December 2009.

Ayesha Habeeb Omer

Ayesha Habeeb Omer included "Forms that work" on the List of books you would want to read in the year 2010, December 2009.

Gary J Anderson

Gary J Anderson tweeted about our book: "Good refresh on effective and usable form design", December 2009.

Matteo Caprari

Matteo Caprari reviewed our book on his blog, October 2009.
"There is no html in this book, it's not about programming forms. And that's why I liked it."

Bennett McElwee

Bennett McElwee reviewed our book and created a summary of key points from it on his blog, Semicolon, September 2009.
"a practical book dedicated to making web forms usable and useful".

Neil Allison

Neil Allison mentioned our book on his blog, Usability Ed. August 2009.
"Forms that Work is a book that nicely compliments Ginny Redish's Letting Go of the Words. Both sit on my bookshelf".

Holly Phillips

Holly reviewed our book on her blog, All about website usability, June 2009

She particularly liked the idea of 'Forms protocols':
"But one of the best tips in the book focuses not on the form itself, but on working with the person requesting the form:  always use a “form protocol” on which the requester must specify, for each and every field, who needs it and what they’ll do with it".

Alice Preston

Alice reviewed our book on Goodreads, June 2009.
"This book is staying on my "consult" shelf next to my desk. I expect to look at it often".

(Thanks to Kathleen MacDowell for letting us know about this review)

Margaret Tassin

Margaret reviewed our book for the Business Forms Management Association's newsletter Forms talk, June 2009

"The authors follow their own advice to demolish the walls of words. Don’t let the simplicity of the format delude you into thinking there isn’t any content. It is packed with great illustrations to explain point by point yet it isn't overly burdened with heavy text. The book goes step by step on how to define requirements, write questions and instructions, select the proper web tools and test".

Gabriel Svenneberg

Gabriel reviewed our book on his blog In usability we trust, April 2009

"I found Forms that Work fun and easy to read. It’s filled with illustrations and real-life examples, which makes it easy to understand how to put the concepts into practice. What I love about this book is that it’s compact and succinct. The authors deliberately decided to keep the book under 200 pages which I think was a very wise decision.

The nitpicks I have is that I found quite a few typos. I also sometimes felt that the illustrations didn’t quite had the quality that I’d expect from a book like this. That said, these are only minor complaints and ones that shouldn’t prevent you from reading this otherwise excellent book".

Aside: A version of Gabriel's review was also posted on usability testing/quebecblog. Here's their equivalent of his paragraph on nitpicks that illustrates the style of the version:

"The nitpicks I sponsor is that I create honestly a not myriad typos. I also now felt that the illustrations didn’t honestly had the grade that I’d believe from a lyrics like this".

I think it's been translated by a machine into French and then back into English.

Craig Tomlin

We made it onto Craig's list of 12 Really useful usability books, March 2009

"I'm kind of surprised that this book didn't sell out shortly after printing. By reading and using this book, any web site manager that has forms on his or her web site could probably double conversion rate!"

Sherri Martin-Hutchins

Sherri Martin-Hutchins wrote a review for the STC Usability and User Experience SIG newsletter, February 2009

Forms That Work is filled to the brim with everything you need to know to make a form that will produce results. It is a definite addition to any web worker's reference shelf".

James Baverstock

James wrote a review on his blog, qwertyphilia, February 2009.

Overall, it’s a nicely designed book which also includes cartoons, case studies and a useful list of further reading with helpful comments".

http://www.appliedwebanalytics.com/blog/book-reviews/the-science-of-online-forms/

Site

Changes
Index
Search
Templates

User

Log In

 
 

Last Modified 2012-02-29